Contributor

I'm new in the android phone world and looking for recommendations for one that is simple to use and not too pricey. Thanks for any ideas.

Esteemed Contributor

Re: no contract android phone

I like Tracfone. HSN and QVC both have them. The price varies a little but for somewhere around $100, you get the phone + 1 yr of service with 1200 talk, 1200 text and 1200 data.

HSN 364-015 and 359-746

QVC E226061 and E225843 E226143

They both also have a off brand, Valet for Tracfone but the device has terrible reviews.

Now I will say this, I'm ready for an upgrade, but I read on a blog that Tracfone is soon getting a new android version phone with a 4" screen and I am holding out for that.

It's God's job to judge the terrorists. It's our mission to arrange the meeting. U.S. Marines
Esteemed Contributor

I would go to Radio Shack, and look for a Tracfone. You may need help with the Sims card and activation. I would check reviews on QVC, and HSN. The phone I selected has the highest level of the Android OS. The question will the network associated with the phone work were you live and people you call.

Honored Contributor

My present phone is a Samsung Centura smart phone. I bought it from hsn for $99 and it came with 1400 minutes/1400 texts and 1400 data plan and 1 year prepaid service from TracFone. I have had a Tracfone for many years now and each year when my expiration date is getting near, I go to hsn and see what phone and Tracfone plan they have available, or wait for a today special to purchase. Getting a phone from them is cheaper than adding minutes to my old phones, much cheaper.