Esteemed Contributor

Rear Car Lights Not Going Off

I just drove home (I have a Honda Accord, 1987) and into my garage. My front lights shut off --- but my back lights remain on. Any ideas about what the problem could be? Never happened before.

Super Contributor

Re: Rear Car Lights Not Going Off

On 7/20/2014 kivah said:

I just drove home (I have a Honda Accord, 1987) and into my garage. My front lights shut off --- but my back lights remain on. Any ideas about what the problem could be? Never happened before.

Time for a check up. Sounds like a short.

Respected Contributor

Try starting up the car, turn on the lights again, turn off, then turn off the car again and see if it at least shuts down for the night so you won't have a dead battery. Hope it works. Then get in for service.
Esteemed Contributor

My neighbor Chet just came over. He's very handy. The little stopper for my brake light switch broke (nr the brake pedal). I've been driving my 1987 Honda Accord for 27-1/2 yrs. Now I can drive to Honda tomorrow. Thx

Respected Contributor

Hope you don't have a dead battery in the morning.

Honored Contributor

On 7/20/2014 kivah said:

Forget the back lights your biggest problem is you are driving a Honda! {#emotions_dlg.thumbdown} Be an American, drive only an American made vehicle. {#emotions_dlg.thumbup}

"Pure Michigan"
Honored Contributor

Our neighbor had that happen. I used to walk by their house with the dog early in the morning and their rear lights would be on. I first thought someone was in the car. But morning after morning would be the same thing. I wondered what kind of battery they had in the car - I wanted to buy one. I could not believe their battery wasn't dead.

After a week or so they got it fixed.

Honored Contributor