Respected Contributor

A little help for a newbie here?

I've never posted on this forum before, but have several D&B handbags and generally love them, I've returned every other brand I've bought from the Q because none hold a candle to the D&B quality, generally speaking. It's the exception I'm debating about, so I thought I'd come here and ask the experts. I bought a TSV bag that has a zip top and is made from a croco-patterned leather. I think it's a year or so old, not much more. I've carried it almost exclusively since I got it, as I wanted a leather bag that would be an all-season bag. Turns out this was just a four season bag, going into it's second autumn it looks horrible! The croco embossing is cracked, flaking and peeling off, it's very tacky-looking, more like it was made from plastic, not leather. I switched back to an older signature print fabric bag that was offered at one time in all-weather leather and I sure wish I'd bought it back them, now the Q and the D&B website don't even have the design any more. But what do I do with this tacky looking one year old bag? Do I donate it to a charity, hoping they can sell it for a few bucks, or do I just throw it away. I admit, I wouldn't buy it if I were shopping a charity shop for bags, it's in that poor a condition, but maybe somebody would overlook the appearance in order to have a good, solid bag to carry. What do you all think, donate or dump? TIA!

Honored Contributor

Re: A little help for a newbie here?

If the bag is in such poor condition that you would not even consider carrying it anymore, throw it out. Charities don't want trash, they aren't dumping grounds and financially challenged women are no different for any other woman. They don't want trash; they want to look nice and no one looks nice carrying a bag like the one you described. The term most charities use is "gently used".

Trusted Contributor