Honored Contributor

Violet Bristol Satchel--Noooo

I received what I had been wishing and wanting for a few months. It is a no go. The color is too bright, cheapens the look of what I imagined and had read to be so beautiful. It is also pebbled, not smooth. This one came from Nordstrom, and had a green dot on the outside packaging. It will be going back. I watched the video on QVC just now, and the bristol satchels they are showing all have very smooth leather. I called Dooney CS, and was told the florentine is not always smooth. This bag looks like it is from Target or Kmart.
Frequent Contributor

Re: Violet Bristol Satchel--Noooo

Florentine bags can be either smooth or pebbly (so Dooney claims now) Sue Clifton has mentioned it several times lately. I know when they first launched you never heard anyone talking about pebbled florentine. I have a pebbly lavender Flo satchel that I LOVE (I don't worry about scratches and such with that one) and I have a smooth Stanwich. I think ultimately it's preference. I'm sorry you were disappointed in the color :-( I've not seen a violet in person. It's so disappointing when a bag doesn't live up to our expectations. That's the curse and downfall of ordering online :-(
Honored Contributor

Sorry for your disappointment Tissyanne. I always wondered if the violet color wasn't a little on the florescent side! Sound like maybe it is. I think I preferred the less saturated seasonal colors Dooney offered last year and it also seems like they offered more colors, but I guess this year is all about violet and baby pink. It is a shame one never knows which Florentine will arrive. Seems to me they sold this line based on the smooth incarnation and yet now they're calling them both Florentine. As has been discussed elsewhere, the option would be great! Hoping you find a replacement that you love...

In my pantry with my cupcakes...
Frequent Contributor