Just-Reduced Clearance
76 Members and 16311 Guests Online

Coffee Talk

Why is my coffee so bitter?

Started 1329078970.487 in Coffee Talk | Last reply 1329591022.867 by amartinezfan

I was at a Birthday party at a tea house the other day and the coffee was SO GOOD! I aksed her what it was and she said it was Eight O clock decaf coffee. When I try to make any coffee at home it is so bitter. I am just getting into coffee so I thought maybe I just don't like it much, but now I see it is just my coffee I don't like. I use a Cusinart coffee maker that was 90.00. What am I doing wrong?

PS. I don't like the keurig.

Thanks!!

Page 1 of 1
amartinezf­an1329079212.4479629 PostsRegistered 12/1/2006Sunny San Diego

What coffee have you used that is turning out bitter?

Buck-i-Nana1329079292.9277963 PostsRegistered 9/26/2007South West Ohio

Is your cuisinart a percolator or a drip? If it's drip and has a hot plate to keep the pot hot, you need to turn it off, or remove your coffee and put it in to a thermal carafe. Leaving it on the heat can cause bitterness.

Also, you might check the brew temp. Too hot a brew temp can cause bitterness as well.

There's always the possibility you got a bad batch of beans, or you go the wrong grind for your type of coffee maker.

Enjoying my retirement 1 cup of coffee at a time.

NOT invisible anymore, so get over it! I'm not gonna disappear :)

amartinezf­an1329079683.029629 PostsRegistered 12/1/2006Sunny San Diego
On 2/12/2012 Invisible-Poster said:

Is your cuisinart a percolator or a drip? If it's drip and has a hot plate to keep the pot hot, you need to turn it off, or remove your coffee and put it in to a thermal carafe. Leaving it on the heat can cause bitterness.

Also, you might check the brew temp. Too hot a brew temp can cause bitterness as well.

There's always the possibility you got a bad batch of beans, or you go the wrong grind for your type of coffee maker.