Valued Contributor

I Need Advice On My Granddaughter's Thin, Tangled Hair. She is 3

Before anyone asks what I am doing the asking....my daughter has finally acknowledged that a change has to be made but she and I are unsure of what, if anything, will help. I always come here because I can get so many good opinions

My lovely GD is 3 1/2. She has never had a haircut not so much as a trim. Her hair is all different lengths the longest being just to her shoulders....I think it has stopped growing or is breaking. My DD only wants to cut it 1 or 2 " and I don't think that will help. Any recommendations? We keep thinking it will eventually start to come in thicker but so far no.

Also could someone recommend a good drugstore children's detangler.

TIA

Honored Contributor

Re: I Need Advice On My Granddaughter's Thin, Tangled Hair. She is 3

I am not an expert, but here is what I would do:

1) cut off the damaged/broken ends, ASAP

2) inspect your combs/brushes- she should have a wide tooth comb for detangling while wet (never a brush) and check her hairbrush to see if has those broken ball tips on it. If it does, it needs to be replaced as those can split hair.

3) try a product like this for conditioning-

Valued Contributor

I use normal conditioner on my children's hair. Also, if they need something extra, perfect 10 leave in conditioner is great. One of my kids has hair that is all one length. The other has curly hair and it is all different lengths. Once a child is out of the baby hair stage, they usually need conditioner; especially when their hair is getting longer. My mother would not condition my hair when I was a pre-schooler and it stayed tangled all of the time.

Trusted Contributor

Try wen kids. Takes the tangles away...bought for my grandson and he has great hair now that grows faster and is thicker. Highly recommend
Super Contributor

I would recommend trying any shampoo that is sulfate free.