Honored Contributor

Peely, flaky skin under the eyes? What the????

I know there was just a recent post about dry eyes. A couple of days ago I was trying to apply makeup when I noticed that underneath my eyes, the skin appeared very flaky and peely. Hmmm.... I have never in all my 62 years experienced this. And, believe me, my skin is so crazy, I have seen and experienced a lot of things!

About 2 weeks ago I started using a new eye cream. Do you think this could be the culprit?

I did stop using it. But now I am uncertain as to what to do. Do nothing? Use something else? It does not hurt or appear red at this point. It is a tiny bit itchy but not much.

What do you all think? And do you have any suggestions as to what to use or not use? Or as to what you think it might me?

I use Refresh Optive eye drops and have been for some time as my eye doctor told me to use them for irritated eyes. This wouldn't cause this to you think?

I doubt that it is the cold as it has never done this to me before but I guess you never know.

Thanks for any and all posts!

"A day without sunshine is like, you know, night." - Steve Martin
Honored Contributor

Re: Peely, flaky skin under the eyes? What the????

I share your pain in all you posted, angelpuppy! This is the first time for me, too. Under my eye flaking, for me, is increased by the retin A I use faithfully under the eye. The heat (apparently) has dried out my skin like never before. Always had oily complexion in the past, so this is new.

I have been applying every serum/cream that I own in an effort to counteract this. Am using EL Repair Serum both under and above the eyes; Tarte maracuja eye cream; dipping out my HG retinol product with a swab!; have used nivea in the blue jar; strivectin eye/neck cream; Dr Gross Ferrulic Acid + Retinol under eye (yesterday). My skin under the eyes looks noticeably better yesterday with the Dr. Gross -- but I had used some of the others also!

~Have a Kind Heart, Fierce Mind, Brave Spirit~