Valued Contributor

OT/CT or Virtual Colonoscopy

I have to get a colonoscopy. I have heard about a CT colonoscopy and I'm wondering if anyone has had one done? The CT is done via an "xray" type method compared to the sedation. Also any colonoscopy prep times would be greatly appreciated.

thanks!!!

Valued Contributor

Re: OT/CT or Virtual Colonoscopy

I have no experience to help you but just wanted to commiserate. My first colonoscopy (traditional) is in 2 weeks - eek!

Esteemed Contributor

The only kind I've actually had was the sedation one, but I have read that the one done with a scan also requires the same prep, no solid food the day the day and night before or the morning of the procedure, and you have to drink some "stuff"--a LOT of it. That's the WORST part, in my opinion. The actual procedure was a breeze compared to the prep. And I'm overdue for one now....I KNOW I need to go ahead and get it done...{#emotions_dlg.scared}

Frequent Contributor

I had a colonoscopy 5 years ago and am due for another : tho it's difficult drinking the 3 large amounts of solution you have to drink spaced apart it's not the worst; like ocean water but not the worst.....and I also recommend eating light that day before the colonoscopy so you don't have to be up so much at night using the bathroom . I got thru the drinking, wasn't forever in the bathroom and it went fine Smiley Happy hope this helps
Super Contributor

You still have to prep.

Super Contributor

I would rather have the traditional because if they find a polyp, they can remove it right then.

moongirl

Honored Contributor

I'm unaware of the CT type, but had my first traditional colonoscopy last November. They did knock me out for it (the Michael Jackson drug), and the whole procedure was over with in like 10-15 minutes. When you have it done this way, you will be groggy afterward so you need to have a driver. There was no pain afterward at all.