Super Contributor

GEL NAIL POLISH- Pros and Cons

I have been wearing Gel Nail Polish for the last two years and love it. I don't have to worry about smearing and breaking as much. I used to get a regular manicure and go out to start my car and Bam! I nicked my nail and was heartbroken. Now, I can do pretty much do what I want for approx. 2 weeks or until my nail grows away from my cuticle and starts looking ugly and then I know it is time to refresh. What is your opinion?

Respected Contributor

Re: GEL NAIL POLISH- Pros and Cons

Glad that it works for you. It did major damage to my nails. I started using regular polish (OPI is my favorite) with Revlon Colorstay Base and Topcoat and my polish can last up to 7 days. Someone on this board recommended using Hard As Hoofs Cream and that has improved my nails beyond what I even could dream of. My nails have grown and are hard. Many people on here do like gels but just did not work for me.

Esteemed Contributor

I won't even try using gel nail system. It's too much of a hassle to remove. I do my own nails with regular polish and it usually lasts for two weeks before I have to change it.
Honored Contributor

My 80 year old mother uses gel polish on her toes, and it seems to be working fine. No complaints as yet. This is the only option for her as far as not messing up her pedicure. Mom doesn't walk very well in flip flops, and even tho she wears the flip flops when her toes are painted, she never fails to mess up regular polish before she can get home. As long as I get her back for nail trim within 4 weeks, she is getting 6-7 weeks out of a gel pedicure.

Super Contributor

I love how it lasts and it's perfect for vacation where I can just forget about it for two weeks. I've never had any problems removing it; I do it myself at home with acetone, cotton pads and tinfoil. No nail damage. It is just an occasional treat though, not a regular manicure for me.

Honored Contributor