Respected Contributor

Determined mom's home bound and just can't get her to the beauty shop for her perm...

so..............................

here I am, ready to do this.

Went to Sally's got the perm for grey hair (very limited as to what I could buy since I'm not a professional), papers and rods.

So.....now what? Wash and dry first? Step by step help would be appreciated.

I'm also going to trim the ends, maybe actually do a cut (bought good scissors so that's not an issue)

Wish I could of found a professional that would of come to her home.

Super Contributor

Bless you! Just reading your post brought back memories of my mother giving me home perms - the smell was something dreadful and then those awful poodle curls (although I think perms have improved since way back in the dark ages). Anyway, I looked around online and found this for you, the explanation and directions seem quite comprehensive and easy to follow. Good luck!

http://www.healthguidance.org/entry/14583/1/How-to-Give-a-Home-Perm.html

Honored Contributor

I jumped into coloring my hair at home with both feet and never looked back. However, I just got a perm today and was thinking I would never try and to that myself.

They did wash me prior to rolling. It was probably some sort of clarifying shampoo since I had to let it sit on my head for 5 minutes before they scrubbed and rinsed. But they did not dry. They rolled me wet. After that I am no help as they used a "special" perm on me. The stylist had to give her helper special instructions from what she was accustomed to because there is something different about the one she uses on me.

Respected Contributor

Wow...thank you so much for the help ( Cassiem & Icegoddess) ..it really does help when you know in the back of your mind you are doing the right thing, makes you a little more confident that heck, I can do this!

Super Contributor