New Holiday Decor
138 Members and 17915 Guests Online

Recipe Swap

PRESSURE COOKER RECIPES

Started 1296761277.19 in Recipe Swap | Last reply 1298770097.56 by alekmt
replies

I finally ordered one of the Cooks Essentials 6 qt pressure cookers and I can't figure out how to run the darn thing. I was so excited about getting one and now I can't use it. Does anyone have a good manual or recipes for this? The manual they sent with it must not go to this cooker. It does not match any buttons on it. Please help if you can. Otherwise I just through away $100. Thanks, Lmeyera

Page 1 of 1
CeCe11296775263.4139 PostsRegistered 6/27/2010

Lmeyera, one of the best books I have found for pressure cooking is by Vickie Smith. The title is "Miss Vickie's Big Book of Pressure Cooker Recipes." She also has an excellent website http://missvickie.com. I have been using pressure cookers for about 10 years now and LOVE them, so I already knew a lot of the information, but for anyone who is just starting out, this is an excellent resource. I don't know about Bob Warden's cookbook (Cooking Slow Foods Fast - I believe that is the title), but this book is 470 pages and contains a lot of basic information on cooking times and how-to's. While a lot of this information may be geared towards stove-top pressure cookers which are generally faster and more powerful than electric units, if your unit does not get up to 15 psi, just adjust the time slightly. If you are like a lot of us who love using pressure cookers, you will probably end up with both types (digital and stove top). Unfortunately, electric units get a bad rap from a lot of long-time users, but I thoroughly enjoy mine. Good luck with your new cooker and hope this information will be useful.

Peepsie1296909138.4372 PostsRegistered 2/5/2011

Lmeyera--Can't you call QVC and ask them to send you the instruction manual/recipe book for the cooker you ordered? I would certainly think they should be able to assist with that. Good luck!