Shoes & Handbags Offers
136 Members and 13874 Guests Online

Kitchen & Food Talk

Anyone have the NuWave PIC...not the oven, the cooktop?

Started 1335715088.68 in Kitchen & Food Talk | Last reply 1343551456.07 by 4uthebest

Curious to see if anyone has this "Precision Induction Cooktop" appliance and if they are worth having?

I'm not a big gadget person...but this seemed pretty versatile....any feedback would be welcome.

Thanks.

Page 1 of 2
4uthebest1335716761.5933526 PostsRegistered 1/21/2009

I do not have it however I have been using induction exclusively for almost 5 years now and there are none that I have used that have the ability to adjust temperature by 10 degree increments and indeed if this one does this and is accurate, it is something to consider.

4uthebest1335717822.853526 PostsRegistered 1/21/2009

In reading the instuction manual, I cannot see how it has anything but six temp settings which is LESS than many other induction cooktops. I have no idea how the infomercial showed incrementing by 10 degrees especially in the temperatures below 200 F.

Mac Doc1336140323.755 PostsRegistered 5/4/2012

I have the NuWave PIC. Have been using it almost daily for nearly a year now.

I have not used my gas stove since purchasing this appliance. One of the many great features I enjoy is that the temperature is maintained perfectly. Only the cooking utensil (pan or skillet) gets hot. The handles of the utensils stay cool so it is easly to move that utensi off the unit

The PIC has a + and - button. 4uthebest: this is the way you changing the temperature by increments.l Plus to increase the temperature; minus to lower the temperature.

The PIC also has a programming feature which allows me to instruct the appliance when to start the cooking process, even while I'm at work.

A timer feature is also a feature. If I wish to simmer a soup, for example, I can set the temperature for simmering and set the PIC to simmer for let's say 45 minutes.