Fall Fashion Clearance
21 Members and 15544 Guests Online

Kitchen & Food Talk

Freezing Christmas cookies?

Started 1322338696.98 in Kitchen & Food Talk | Last reply 1322405225.003 by marky
replies

How do you all freeze your Christmas cookies? I have never done this before, I usually make them fresh, but would like to make it easier on myself this year. Is it still to early to do this? Thanks for all your advice! {#emotions_dlg.biggrin}

Page 1 of 1
NovaStar1322356066.481323 PostsRegistered 11/9/2010

My MIL always started right after Thanksgiving. Not too early to start.

I usually bake mine fresh as well. But if I need alot of variety, I bake the bar cookies first. And freeze those. Plus, I will be needing the pan again for other cookies.

I have a tip to make it easier. Line the 8x8 baking pan with a double thickness of aluminum foil. After the bars are completely cooled, lift out the cookies (the double thickness makes it more sturdy & act as handles.) Then peel back one of the layers & use it to wrap the cookies (in a block.) Pop the whole thing in the freezer.

Other cookies freeze pretty well in an air tight container. I defrost in the fridge. I wouldn't freeze cookies with frosting. Or anything with meringue (gets sticky.) And fragile cookies, like sugar cut outs, tend to break for me. So I make those last.

darkpoet1322357002.94715 PostsRegistered 10/1/2010

I place the cookies I bake into freezer bags and put them in the freezer. You can usually keep them in the freezer for three or four weeks. You can also freeze the cookie dough you make. Allrecipes.com has some information about freezing cookies.

Karlakaye1322359568.12865 PostsRegistered 7/6/2009The beautiful Chesapeake Bay