TSV(R) Preview
140 Members and 11211 Guests Online

Kitchen & Food Talk

Yeast expiration date....

Started 1265917911 in Kitchen & Food Talk | Last reply 1266378274 by mari610
I am fairly new to bread making - about 6 months. I just noticed my yeast expired in November. Is it still good or no? I dont want to risk a bad loaf as I am making cardamom bread for my dad's 70th birthday. He loves it! So, if anyone has any recipes with cardamom, feel free to post!
What are the rules on yeast? Is it ok after a few weeks or dont even use at all after the expiration.
Thanks so much!
--
~ Tori ~

~ Tori ~

Page 1 of 1
Poodlepet12659189213650 PostsRegistered 9/21/2006Punta Gorda Florida
Tori, my inclination is to tell you to go buy a fresh jar....or you could enter "proofing yeast" into your web browser and check to see if it's alive.....but I would highly recommend you order some SAF yeast from King Arthur. There is no guess work with this-you can keep it for an indefinite time in your freezer (I decant into a jar and keep some in my fridge-but I've been told by the folks at King Arthur that you can use it straight out of the freezer).
This yeast is fool proof-and that's wonderful for new bakers: if your bread does not rise, you can look for other problems but at least you will know it's not your yeast!
Happy Baking!
Poodlepet

Foodie 71265920095740 PostsRegistered 3/9/2006
Tori,
Given that this is an "important" loaf of bread for you, I'm inclined to agree with Poodlepet, but I did find this on ask Yahoo.
It will probably be fine. Expiration dates assume worst case, not best. It is easy to test. Put a teaspoon of sugar in some tepid water (slightly warmer than skin temp), add a little of the yeast and stir gently. If the yeast comes to the top in 5-10 minutes, it is still alive and kicking.
That's an easy test and you won't waste the ingredients for a loaf of bread if you find the yeast is not good.