Weekend Preview
17 Members and 8700 Guests Online

Fashion Talk

Can Someone Describe Ponte Knit to Me?

Started 1318621679.807 in Fashion Talk | Last reply 1318784445.103 by Sammijo

Hi,

I'm a newbie on the board, although I've been lurching around awhile. I'm wondering if someone can described ponte knit to me? The hosts talk about it often. Is it like any other double knit...silkier, lighter, heavier, or what? I'm puzzled and don't want to order until I know what it is like. Thank you!

Madisson

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.”
― Marcus Tullius Cicero

Page 1 of 1
Crazy for ­QVC1318623858.3878652 PostsRegistered 11/3/2007

I would compare it to what was called "double knit" from years ago...it's what I would say the weight comparible to a sweatshirt fabric...has a good amount of stretch...I have several ponte knit blazers including the Susan Graver boyfriend jackets and really love them...they are great to throw on with jeans to dress up an outfit...You should probably just order one item and see how you like it...the worst that can happen is you have to return it...

Suzzeee1318624200.5172394 PostsRegistered 6/15/2007West Coast

It's a heavier weight substantial knit with a decent amount of stretch. I like it a lot - it holds its shape and is really flattering unlike most of those super lightweight knits. It's also not crazy "bungy cord" stretchy like a lot of the knits I see lately. Roma Ponte is supposed to be the higher end on ponte knit -- I just saw something online at I think NM in a Ponte de Roma knit and it wasn't inexpensive. It's also a tightly woven, dense knit that's very smooth! I agree with Crazy for QVC - order something and see if how you like it.

Last edited on 10/14/2011

Last edited on 10/14/2011

HopeReigns1318639076.8533517 PostsRegistered 5/4/2007

To me it is the old "leisure suit" double knit of the past....just reborn as "ponte".

Hope, >^.^<

"

2cavvies1318639787.363129 PostsRegistered 10/13/2011