TSV(R) Preview
35 Members and 11089 Guests Online

Beauty Banter

How Do Shellac Nails Differ from Acrylic?

Started 1281124687.89 in Beauty Banter | Last reply 1281204862.6 by KatieSab
replies

My nail tech wants to go this route because my nails are so sensitive. Would that really make a difference?

God's answer to prayer:
1 - Yes
2 - Not yet
3 - I have something better in mind

- Robin Roberts

Page 1 of 1
mdmc1281125840.041649 PostsRegistered 10/27/2007West Coast

Shellac is a gell polish. There is no filing on the nails. It is suppose to stay o natural nails for 2 weeks like acrylic would. I am using a similar product I get from my supplier called Gellish. It is basically the same thing. I am a nail tech but I took my acrylic nails off about 6 years ago. I do have great nails but polish does not stay on natural nails very well. I have been using this for a month now and women love it. It really does stay on and you soak it off with acetone so no damage to the natural nail. Personally I have the french manicure and couldn't be happier. That being said it is more expensive than a regular manicure because the cost of the polish to me is 4 times what a bottle of OPI is. Not to mention you have to use their top and base coat.

lulu21281126033.5220967 PostsRegistered 8/1/2007

With Shellac they go over your natural nails. I believe they cure them under a light after the base coat, polish and top coat. It is suppose to last for 2 weeks. They are remove by wrapping acteone soaked pads around your nails for a specific amount of time. There is no drilling involved.

Jerzeegirl1281126760.8711338 PostsRegistered 4/18/2005Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey