TSV(R) Preview
13 Members and 12548 Guests Online

Beauty Banter

Dyed my hair at home and I messed up

Started 1339437057.537 in Beauty Banter | Last reply 1339494997.47 by ladyd733

In an attempt to cover my gray roots my dark brown hair is jet black. The worse part you can still see some gray. How do you fix this or should I give up and go to a salon?

Page 1 of 2
caligrl1339437245.2879049 PostsRegistered 7/17/2008

What color did you use? Hair color always turns out darker than the shade on the box. I have been coloring my hair at home for over 30 years. I suggest for starters. wash your hair a LOT, scalp mainly. They make a color remover at Sallys supply, maybe go there and ask for help? or RUN to your hair salon! Good Luck O/P

I have been there, I know how you feel!

molisa1339437248.5671194 PostsRegistered 8/25/2010Missouri

I would go to a salon. If you have friends or family who get their hair colored at a salon and you like it ask who does it. Otherwise, I would call a local salon with a good reputation and tell them you need a color correction for at-home coloring. Be prepared to spend several hours there and good luck!Smile

star8261339437544.1712389 PostsRegistered 10/6/2004Coastal Ripkaland bordering Bixbyville and Dawkinstown

oh trixie~ Though I can't offer any help as I've never been brave enough to do this at home, I feel for you!

If you have a salon nearby go and have them fix it... don't try anything else yourself as you could make it even darker. Or GREEN! Wink

You want it fixed and the sooner the better. Call a salon and explain what happened and let them tell you if you have to wait a day or two or if you can have the black lightened up now.

It will all work out... Just wear a hat if you really don't like it until you can get it the way you want it.

***Black hair is striking... Look at Barbara Bixby, she looks mysterious with her jet black hair***

Good luck and please post when you have it exactly the way you want it.